Welcome to Carrick-on-Suir Ancestry


CARRICK-ON-SUIR, founded in the 13th century, is a market town immersed in history with its 15th century Ormond Castle Twin Tower remnants fronted by Ireland’s only 16th century significant unfortified Tudor Manor House; to the Heritage Centre, site of the town’s first 13th century St. Nicholas of Myra Church.

 

The Old Bridge (1447) leads to Carrick Beg (Little Carrick) and the site of the former Franciscan Church and Graveyard (1336) now converted to an Art Gallery and Training & Learning Centre.

Carrick-on-Suir Ancestry Office and the approved Fáilte Ireland Visitor Information Point are located at the Heritage Centre. Our dedicated Staff are available to offer advice on the many tourist attractions in


 

 

 

 


Our researcher is also available to meet you outside of the above open hours. For appointment please phone (353) 86 0869166 or email: carrickonsuir.heritagecentre@gmail.com

 

Photograph 2: Shows the 1640 Butler Chalice. This Chalice is part of the Butler Church Plate Silver Collection which is on display at the Heritage Centre. The Chalice inscription reads “Gift of the Duke of Ormond Troop to ye Church of Carrick A.D. 1673″. This Chalice and accompanying Communion Paten were used by the Butler Family.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Carrick-on-Suir Heritage Centre, Main Street, Carrick-on-Suir, County Tipperary, Ireland. Tel: (353) 51 640200 Mobile: 086 0869166 Email: carrickonsuir.heritagecentre@gmail.com